Washington 2 || 2008-03-15 at 9:57 a.m.

So, I don't feel much like going into depth about the last few days Kris and I were in Washington but I will tell you the important stuff.

I did forget to mention that I told my parents Kris and I are engaged. My dad rolled his eyes like I figured he would and my mom didn't say much. My Grandma said congratulations to us and she welcomed Kris to the family. I made sure she was there so my parents could flip out on us. [Manipulation much?]

On Thursday Caitlin picked us up and we hit the road. Nothing too exciting happened on the way there but I did find out a lot has changed with people in the program since I left.

When we finally got to Ocean Shores I had to wait in line for about an hour to reister. Then, Kris and I found a place to stay in the house that Caitlin was staying in. Only $60 for three nights. That's not to shabby. After that Caitlin, Kris, and I went to pizza and a speaker meeting. I was so glad to be back where I fit in, with recovering drug addicts. People who know me, even if they don't know me. It was comforting. Then Kris and I went to the dance. It was mostly for older people. Oldies rock and such. It was ok though and I finally got to see Ronda [my counselor from out patient.]

On Friday Kris and I went to some workshops. We went to the one Ronda was speakind at and I cried. She can always make me cry whether she's trying or not. She loves me though, that's why she does it. After that we just hung around the convention center for a while until the Comedy Show started. It was really funny. Kris and I both enjoyed it. Then it was time for the next speaker meeting and after that the dance. Which I enjoyed a lot more because of the music and amount of people there.

Saturday we slepted in a little but woke up earlier enough to go to another workshop but when we got there we ended up sitting for about 30 minures and they still couldn't figure out some computer problem they were having so we left. We got coffee and lunch then we walked on the beach. It was so peaceful. It's not like the beaches I'm used to. With rocks everywhere and no sand to be found and with islands in the water. It was sandy and there was nothing in the water. Just waves. It was amazing. We took some cute pictures too. One of which I must post on here. After that we just went back home for a while and took a nap.

Then we went to the speaker meeting/countdown [which we almost didn't go to but I'm glad we did. We ended up in the overflow room but even there was nice.] They started off with asking if there were people from other countries. There was some one from New Zealand. Fuck. Then they went to the states. I thought it was cool that I got to raise my hand when they said Alaska. There were people from all over the US from New York to California. After that it was the birthday countdown. The started at fifty year and when to 24 hours. Kris and I stood up when they said 12 days and we had to go into the main room because we're "new comers." We walked across the stage and got hugs from everyone and got a Basic Text. I started crying, it was so emotional that all these people really cared. I hadn't told anyone that I had relapsed so people were a little shocked when I walked across the stage. When I went to walk to the door Kris and I were attacked with hugs from every one. People we knew and people we didn't. Then the lady who was speaking said that all the new comers in the over flow room needed to come into the main room because we were the most important. There were quite a few of us too. It was fucking amazing. It touched me in so many ways to have all of that happen to me in such little time.

I'm getting tired of typing and there's not much left to tell but I'll tell it later.

What I'm Hearing:
What I'm Thinking:
What I'm Watching:

0 comments

Before || After